Baltimore County Jail Population Statistics

Baltimore County jail population data describes how many people are held in county custody, who they are, and why they are there. People who want to look up Baltimore County jail population numbers should know that the county jail is a local, mostly short-term custody system. It is not the same as the Maryland state prison system. The county detention population shifts day to day as people are booked, released on bond, sent to court, or moved to state or federal custody. Reliable inmate population figures for Baltimore County come from official county budget records, state corrections reports, and national jail data, not from estimates.

Public Record Search

Sponsored Results

How to Look Up Baltimore County Jail Population Data

Baltimore County does not run a public live dashboard that posts a daily jail population count. There is no county open-data feed that updates a head count each morning. Because of that, the place to find real numbers is not a single web page. It is a set of official documents. The Baltimore County Department of Corrections operates the local detention system and posts facility and inmate-service pages, but those pages describe operations, not a running population figure.

For actual counts, the official sources are the county operating budget, the Department of Corrections reports, and statewide data kept by the Maryland Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services. National jail figures come from the federal Bureau of Justice Statistics. Each source updates on its own schedule. Budgets are yearly. State and national jail reports often run a year or more behind the period they measure. So a number you read may reflect a past count, not today. Always check the report date before you treat a figure as current.


Baltimore County Jail Capacity Overview

The main county detention facility is the Baltimore County Detention Center at 720 Bosley Avenue in Towson. The county Department of Corrections runs it. The facility sits near the Towson court complex, which is fitting because much of the jail population is tied to court activity. A jail's rated capacity is the number of beds the facility is built and approved to hold. The current population is the head count on a given day.

Here is the honest limit on this topic. Research did not locate an official, published rated-capacity number for the Baltimore County Detention Center, and the county does not post a live daily head count. So the table below names the facility and its location, but the capacity and current-population cells point you to the official record instead of a guessed figure. For a confirmed bed count, check the Baltimore County operating budget and the Department of Corrections reports. Do not trust a capacity number that has no official source behind it.

FacilityRated CapacityCurrent Population
Baltimore County Detention Center (720 Bosley Avenue, Towson, MD 21204)Not published in official sourcesNot published in official sources; check the county budget and Corrections reports

No verified Baltimore County jail capacity or daily population figure was located in official sources. Any specific number found elsewhere should be confirmed against the county budget or Department of Corrections reports before it is relied on.


Average Daily Population

Average daily population, often shortened to ADP, is the mean number of people held in a jail across a set period. It smooths out the day-to-day swings. A jail might book dozens of people on a busy weekend and release many of them within a day or two. ADP captures the typical load instead of any single spike.

An official ADP figure for the Baltimore County Detention Center was not located in extractable official sources during research. No verified year-over-year change can be stated without inventing a number, so none is given. The proper way to get a Baltimore County ADP is to read the county operating budget, which often reports corrections appropriations and facility metrics, and the Department of Corrections reports. The Maryland Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services keeps statewide data that helps put any county figure in context. When comparing years, only compare verified figures from the same official source, since methods and reporting periods can differ between agencies.


Demographic Breakdown

A demographic breakdown shows the makeup of the jail population by gender, race, and age. Official reports that publish this kind of split usually draw the numbers from booking records and classification data. The county Department of Corrections holds that data for the Baltimore County Detention Center.

Research did not locate an official, published demographic breakdown of the Baltimore County jail population. So no race, gender, or age percentages are listed here, because none were verified, and made-up percentages would mislead readers. The table below points to where each kind of figure can be confirmed. For national context on jail demographics, the Bureau of Justice Statistics publishes race, sex, and age data across U.S. jails, and that national pattern can be read as background, not as a county-specific count.

Demographic GroupVerified Source
Gender splitNot published for the county; confirm with the Baltimore County Department of Corrections or county budget reports
Race or ethnicityNot published for the county; national jail figures available from the Bureau of Justice Statistics
Age distributionNot published for the county; national jail figures available from the Bureau of Justice Statistics

Note: the percentages above are listed as not published because no official Baltimore County demographic breakdown was found in research.


Pretrial vs. Sentenced Population

This split is the most important thing to understand about a county jail. Two very different groups share the same building. Pretrial detainees are people who have been arrested and charged but not yet convicted. They are held while their case moves through District Court or Circuit Court. Many are held only because they have not posted bond. Sentenced inmates are people a court has already convicted and ordered to serve time. In a county jail, sentenced inmates are usually serving shorter local terms.

Baltimore County's jail is mostly a pretrial and short-sentence population. People may be held while waiting for a hearing, after a bail review, on a warrant, pending transfer, or held for another agency. That mix changes fast. A person booked today on a new charge can be released tomorrow on bond, which is why the pretrial share moves around. The table below names the two groups, but the exact percentages are not filled in, because no official Baltimore County pretrial-to-sentenced split was located in research. For verified shares, check the county budget and Department of Corrections reports.

StatusDescriptionShare of County Jail
PretrialCharged but not convicted; held while the case is pending, often on unposted bondNot published in official sources
SentencedConvicted and ordered to serve a term, usually a shorter local sentenceNot published in official sources

Note: national data from the Bureau of Justice Statistics shows that most people in U.S. local jails are held pretrial, which gives context but is not a Baltimore County figure.


Misdemeanor vs. Felony Population

A jail also holds people on different charge levels. A misdemeanor is a less serious offense. A felony is a serious offense that can carry longer prison time. County jails hold both. Some people are in on misdemeanor charges and short sentences. Others are held on felony charges while their case is pending in Circuit Court, which handles the more serious matters in Baltimore County.

No official Baltimore County breakdown of the jail population by misdemeanor versus felony was found in research, so no split is stated here. The charge level on any given case can be checked through Maryland Judiciary Case Search, but that is a case-by-case lookup, not an aggregate count. For an aggregate charge-level breakdown, the county budget and Department of Corrections reports are the right place to look.


Mental Health and Medical Population

Jails carry a heavy health load. Many people enter custody with medical needs, substance use issues, or mental health conditions. The Baltimore County Department of Corrections screens people at intake and provides medical and mental health services inside the facility. That screening data is part of how a jail tracks who needs care.

The share of the Baltimore County jail population receiving mental health or medical care is not published in the official sources reviewed, so no figure is given here. This is sensitive, protected information at the individual level, and aggregate counts, when they exist, sit in official reports. National research from the Bureau of Justice Statistics has found that mental health and substance use needs are common across U.S. jail populations. Treat that as background. It is not a Baltimore County number.


National and State Context for Jail Population

Jail population is often measured as a rate per 100,000 residents. That rate lets you compare a small county to a large one fairly. The federal Bureau of Justice Statistics publishes national jail rates and trends. The Vera Institute keeps county-level jail admission and population trend data that helps frame how a single county sits against state and national patterns.

A verified Baltimore County jail rate per 100,000 was not located in research, and the state and national figures shift each reporting year, so this page does not print a fixed number for any level. The table below is set up the way such a comparison should be read, with the source for each level named. To fill it with current data, pull the county figure from the county budget or Department of Corrections reports, and the state and national figures from BJS. Only compare figures from the same year and the same method.

LevelJail Population per 100kWhere to Verify
Baltimore CountyNot published in official sourcesCounty budget, Department of Corrections reports
MarylandNot stated here; varies by yearBureau of Justice Statistics
NationalNot stated here; varies by yearBureau of Justice Statistics

It also helps to keep county jail custody and state prison custody clearly apart. They are run by different agencies and hold different groups. The comparison below shows the split.

FeatureCounty Jail CustodyState Prison Custody
Operated byBaltimore County Department of CorrectionsMaryland Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services (DPSCS)
Who is heldPretrial detainees and people serving short local sentencesPeople convicted and sentenced to longer prison terms
Typical length of stayShort, often days to monthsLonger, often years
Population lookupCounty corrections; no public live roster locatedDPSCS statewide inmate data and locator



Where Baltimore County Jail Population Data Comes From

Good jail population numbers come from official records, not from guesses or third-party sites. For Baltimore County, the front-line sources are county documents. The county operating budget reports corrections appropriations, staffing, and facility metrics each year. The Department of Corrections publishes facility and inmate-service information and is the agency that runs the Baltimore County Detention Center. State and national bodies fill in the wider picture.

The table below lists each source and what it is best used for. Treat the county budget and Corrections reports as the authority for any Baltimore County figure. Use the state and national sources for context and comparison.

SourceScopeBest Used For
Baltimore County Department of CorrectionsCountyFacility operations, inmate services, the Detention Center
Baltimore County operating budgetCountyCorrections funding, staffing, and facility metrics by year
Maryland DPSCSStateStatewide corrections statistics and state-custody context
Bureau of Justice StatisticsNationalNational and state jail rates, demographics, and trends
Vera Institute Incarceration TrendsCounty and nationalCounty-level jail admission and population trend context

One caution applies across all of these. Reporting periods and methods differ. A budget year is not the same window as a BJS survey year. So a careful reader checks the date and the definition behind every figure before comparing it to another. For individual records, the Baltimore County arrest records page and the court records page cover case-level lookups.